//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Power of Love

I fully intended to blog on what makes Sprig eco-friendly today, but events on the blogosphere and twittersphere have completely railroaded that post…
As with many of you, I have been on pins and needles waiting for news about Anissa Mayhew. Part of the reason I tweet and blog today is because of her. She is one of the first people I met at the TypeAMom conference and she taught the Twitter 101 class I took there. She was the first person I tweeted, with a: “thanks for teaching me, it’s my first tweet.” To which she replied, “Welcome to the world of time suckage.” Vintage Anissa, no?

But what I discovered once I arrived in this virtual world was a sense of community I never expected. Anissa and so many of you have welcomed me with open arms and created a community of Girlfriends I have been missing for such a long time in my personal and professional life. I have been floored by your stories! I am blown away by Anissa’s courage and the way she faces every day with such humor. Thank you for making me laugh, Anissa, I can’t wait until you are back!

In these days, as we all wait for the latest update, I am now humbled not only by the power of community, but also the power of love we have for each other. I want to encourage everyone to keep up their #prayersforanissa and consider giving to her family in a real way by going to the Caring Bridge site set up for her: http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/anissamayhew. I know I will be sending a gift card soon because sometimes the power of love needs to be expressed not just virtually, but also in real time. I hope you will do the same.

Feel free to comment below or tweet me at @kimatsprig.
Until next time.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Power of Love

  1. Beautiful!

    Thanks for sharing.

    Posted by Tara Rison | November 19, 2009, 4:44 pm
  2. Anissa has that impact. I interacted with her over a year ago but only met a few times since BlogHer but she is one of my fav people. It saddens me deeply.

    Posted by niri | November 30, 2009, 1:49 am

Leave a Reply

Follow Us!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sprig Toys Tweets

Sprig Toys Blog Archive

